Ground Truth Trekking

Small Feet, Big Land

Adventure, Home, and Family on the Edge of Alaska

by Erin McKittrick, author of A Long Trek Home: 4,000 Miles by Boot, Raft, and Ski

Small Feet, Big Land in the media:

Past Tour Events
Location Date
Seldovia Thursday Sept 12
Homer Thursday Sept. 26
Kenai Friday Sept. 27
Seward Saturday Sept. 28
Palmer Wednesday Oct 2
Anchorage Thursday Oct. 3
Talkeetna Friday Oct 4
Fairbanks Saturday Oct. 5
Haines Monday Oct 7
Juneau Thursday Oct 10
Sitka Wednesday Oct. 16
Petersburg Saturday Oct 19
Ketchikan Tuesday Oct. 22
Bellingham Friday Oct 25
Seattle- Sand Point Tuesday Oct 29
Bainbridge Wednesday Oct 30
Leavenworth- slideshow Friday Nov 1
Leavenworth- signing  Saturday Nov 2
Spokane Sunday Nov 3
Kennewick
Tuesday Nov 5
Lake Forest Park Wednesday Nov 6
Kirkland Saturday Nov 9
Seattle - Queen Anne Monday Nov 11
Olympia Wednesday Nov 13
Portland Thursday Nov 21
Eugene Friday Nov 22
Tacoma Thursday Nov 14
Berkeley December
Corte Madera December

Two-book Deal: Only $34.95 for both

Who am I signing them for?

Autographed copy for only $18.95

Follow me as our young family treks through the remote corners of Alaska, exploring the intersection of wilderness and industry in America's wildest state. With two small children in tow, we set out to explore our vast wild home: walking the coast of the Arctic Ocean, living for months on the crumbling edge of Alaska's largest glacier, visiting remote mines and remote villages, and building a life in a yurt at the edge of the wilderness.

Small Feet, Big Land Cover

Small Feet, Big Land: Adventure, Home and Family on the Edge of Alaska

Small Feet, Big Land: Adventure, Home and Family on the Edge of Alaska

source: Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial

Who am I signing this for?

Holiday Sale! 15% off -- only  $16.11.  Order here and support our work

Watch the book trailer!

Small Feet, Big Land follows the expeditions and daily life of a family of four: Erin McKittrick and her husband, Hig, lifelong adventure trekkers, set out to explore the vast and remote wild corners of Alaska with their two young children in tow.

Small Feet, Big Land in Homer

Erin and Hig presented at Islands and Ocean visitor center along with Friends of Kachemak Bay State Park.  The auditorium was at nearly its 150 person capacity.

Erin and Hig presented at Islands and Ocean visitor center along with Friends of Kachemak Bay State Park. The auditorium was at nearly its 150 person capacity.

GET PHOTO

After trekking thousands of miles through harsh and beautiful wilderness together, Erin and Hig must adjust to the short attention span — and short legs — of a toddler and the weight of a newborn baby, as they walk Alaska’s rapidly changing coastline. While visiting remote Arctic villages, touring a zinc mine, and exploring for two months on one of Alaska’s largest glaciers, Erin sees the dramatic effects of climate change on the landscape around her, and considers the very different world in which her children may live one day.

Whether huddling in the pelting rain, facing a curious grizzly bear, eating whale blubber with new friends, or picking berries on the sunny tundra their unconventional adventures draw Erin’s family — and readers — closer together as they explore the intersection of wilderness and industry in America’s wildest state.

Sign up for the email list if you want to know when we'll be giving a slideshow/presentation in your community!

Join our email list